Why we search


The human mind has a lust for knowledge. An infatuation for answers. Answers to who we are. Where we come from. What is our relationship with the cosmos? What is time? When did it all begin?

To overcome our insignificance, alienation and obscurity we all concoct our own sense of belonging. For me, it’s the knowledge that every atom in my body has come from the core of a star which exploded and scattered its elements into space in a brilliant supernova. The elements then clumped together and created new generations of planets and stars. Such a process formed the Earth and my atoms came from it. I am star dust, we all are. That fact sends shivers down my spine; I feel connected.

We are part of the universe. We are in the universe and the universe is in us.  -Neil deGrasse Tyson

To think that I, a cluster of atoms, know that I am a cluster of atoms is beautiful. I am a way for the universe to know itself. Every time these thoughts strike me, they dissolve my ego. They expand the very notion of who I am. They unveil a whole new outlook on life.

Today, we communicate at the speed of light. We have set foot on the moon and sent rovers to planets beyond. We probe into the fabric of the cosmos, into time and space and peer into the very structure of the atoms that build us.

Science has never been about ‘why?’, it’s been about ‘why not?’. The joy of discovery drives us. It transcends our limitations in our physical selves. As long as we are human we will continue pushing the boundaries between what is known and unknown. As long as we are human, we will explore.

8 thoughts on “Why we search

Leave a Reply

